## **Regents' Academic Advisory Committee on Physics & Astronomy**

Minutes of meeting on Friday April 11, 2003 at Middle Georgia College, Cochran

The meeting was convened at approximately 5:00 PM with the following members present: Roy Wood (Armstrong Atlantic State), Tatiana Krivosheev (Clayton College & State University), Ntungwa Maasha (Coastal Georgia Community College), Soumitra Chattopadhyay (Floyd College), Dorothy Zinsmeister (USG BOR), Michael Pangia (Georgia College & State University), Mariam Dittman (Georgia Perimeter College), Arthur Woodrum (Georgia Southern University), Stefan Dieters (Georgia Southwestern State University), William Nelson (Georgia State University), Chad Davies (Gordon College), Rolf Schimmrigk (Kennesaw State University), D. Lawing (Macon State College), M. Harry Parker (Medical College of Georgia), Imad El-Jeiad (Middle Georgia College), Richard Prior (North Georgia College & State University), Kailash Chandra (Savannah State University), Charles Johnson (South Georgia College), Russell Patrick (Southern Polytechnic State University), Javier Hasbun (State University of West Georgia), and F. Todd Baker (University of Georgia).

(Minutes of the 2002 meeting were previously approved electronically.)

- Prior to the AACPA meeting, the group met jointly (3 to *ca*. 4:45 pm) with the Chemistry Committee on items as follows:
- 1) Course designers presented and described eCore courses in Chemistry (Chem 1211-12, with lab) and Physics (Phys 1211-12, with lab) in the joint meeting with the Chemistry committee. Both generated active discussions but no motions.
- 2) Briefly discussed appropriate roles for the AAC's in development of the K-14 Broad-Based Science Standards with no motions from the joint committees.

The AACPA was charged with two items:

- 3) Review of the Area F for the Physics major, the Astronomy major and the Physical Science major. Following a brief discussion, the motion was presented to reaffirm support of the Area F as now established. The motion passed unanimously.
- 4) Review core-curriculum courses under the responsibility of AACPA and prepare a set of learning outcomes common to all institutions. This assignment generated considerable discussion, *e.g.*, on the difference (if any) between outcomes and content (should outcomes include content and capabilities, *etc.*?). The motion was made and approved to draft initial versions of the "outcomes" via electronic group discussions led by:

Physics, Mariam Dittman (GPC) Astronomy, Ntungwa Maasha (Coastal GA)

- 5) The chair reaffirmed the Committee's intention from 2002 that the introductory physics course descriptions should be officially changed as approved and submitted a year ago.
- 6) As a follow-up to the group presentation of the eCore physics course, Todd Baker (UGA) commented on the absence of information to the group on the actual implementation and offering of the courses.
- 7) Todd Baker (UGA) moved that Gainesville College and J. B. Sharma be formally commended for their selection as "one of 10 nationwide exemplary two-year college physics programs." (This selection was part of the AAPT program "Strategic Programs for Innovations in Undergraduate Physics at Two-Year Colleges," SPINUP-TYC. For more information, see the AAPT website at <a href="http://www.aapt.org/Projects/criteria.cfm">http://www.aapt.org/Projects/criteria.cfm</a>.) The motion passed unanimously.
- 8) Officers and Executive Committee members for 2003-04 were elected as follows:

Chair:	William Nelson (Georgia State)
Chair-elect:	Mariam Dittman (Georgia Perimeter)
Executive Committee:	Javier Hasbun (State U. of West Georgia, Past Chair)
	Todd Baker (UGA)
	Michael Pangia (Georgia College & State U.)
	Chad Davies (Gordon College)

9) The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:30 PM

Respectfully submitted,

William H. Nelson